In 2011, the ISASS Coding and Reimbursement Task Force was formed to direct society advocacy efforts towards commercial payers and technology assessment forums, many of which inform coverage determinations and access to medically necessary spinal surgeries. The Task Force’s mission is to:

  1. identify spinal surgery-related coding and reimbursement issues that may adversely impact patient access to medically indicated spine surgeries;
  2. develop for the Board’s approval advocacy action plans on the society’s behalf to address those issues; and
  3. assist in the execution of those advocacy actions plans as appropriate and necessary.

[image src=”” width=”200″ height=”221″ align=”right” caption=”Morgan P. Lorio, MD, FACS, Chair” alt=”Morgan P. Lorio, MD, FACS, Chair, ISASS Coding & Reimbursement Task Force” border=”0″ greyscale=”0″ animate=”fadeInRight”]In January 2012, Morgan Lorio, MD, FACS of Bristol, Tennessee, was selected to chair the Task Force. Under his leadership, the Task Force has actively advocated on behalf of the ISASS membership in a variety of forums and is currently engaged in the following advocacy activities: representing ISASS members at the AMA House of Delegates, CPT Editorial Panel and the RUC; securing new CPT® codes for spine procedures; participating in the RUC survey process to establish RVUs for spine procedures and partnering with the AMA and CMS to establish physician professional payments; conducting research to support health economics publications for spine procedures; developing procedure guidelines to advocate for coverage and payment with payers; representing ISASS members before CMS and providing feedback to CMS rulemakings such as the Physician Fee Schedule; and informing and engaging ISASS membership through advocacy alerts and news email updates.

In addition to our ISASS members, the Task Force has created an advisory body of coding & reimbursement experts to help inform its priorities and activities. Thank you to the members of the Task Force and members of the Advisory Body for your tireless work:

Task Force Members

  • Morgan Lorio, MD, FACS, Chair
  • Ali Araghi, DO
  • Doug Beard, MD
  • Terrance Julien, MD
  • Richard Kube, MD
  • Isador Lieberman, MD, MBA, FRCSC
  • Paul Park, MD
  • Tony Schnuerer, PA
  • Paul Schwaegler, MD
  • Kern Singh, MD
  • James Yue, MD

Advisory Body Members:

  • Barbara Cataletto, MBA
  • Jolayne Devers, MBA, CPC
  • Kelli Hallas
  • Tim Hunter, MPA
  • Shan McDaniel, CPC, CPMA
  • Jen Varela, CPC
  • Cindy Vandenbosch

The Task Force welcomes ideas and input for its agenda and activities. If there is a coding or reimbursement issue that you wish to bring to the Task Force’s attention, or if you are interested in taking a active role in serving the ISASS membership by joining the Task Force, please contact Liz Vogt, ISASS Director of Health Policy & Advocacy, at

See Also: ISASS Committees →


Contact Us